According to QPS, 2016 finished up with 250 deaths on Queensland roads.  This includes 8 cyclists  (approx. 3%) and 37 pedestrians (approx. 15%).

So, long term, zero change in the number of cyclists dying on our roads, or the road toll generally. One wonders if we've achieved all we can with our current road safety initiatives, and the only solution now is to seriously work at getting people out of cars and into public transport, self-drive cars, and onto bicycles. Assuming most deaths on our roads involve the use of the private motor car, every 1% less car users would equal 2.5 less deaths. 

On Christmas eve, we packed the children into our car and drove around the neighbourhood checking out Christmas lights.  Some streets in our neighbourhood got right into it, with lights all along the street and neighbours milling about chatting.  It struck me how differently cars behaved in the streets where there were a few people milling about. Cars crawled along at 5kph, and as a driver I felt very out of place and very uncomfortable. Compare this to streets devoid of people, where cars zipped along in the dark at 50+kph.

Of course, those people milling about were all committing offences - it's now illegal to walk or play on your street. 

Views: 1852

Reply to This

Replies to This Discussion

Food for thought, and I agree.  We are unlikely to see any improvement in the road toll with the current initiatives and attitudes.  Any safety initiatives that work are being offset by other factors. 

I can't see a change on the horizon either, it will take political guts and determination to start the ball rolling in a new direction.

What always gets me is that if the road toll was an airliner crash, there would be widespread media coverage, inquiries upon inquiries, safety audits, change of procedures, training, etc. It almost always results in safer planes, better trained pilots, maintenance engineers, air traffic controllers, better procedures etc.